Free Coursera Course: Fantasy and Science Fiction

After finishing my second degree at law school, I swore to myself that I would never go back to university. Famous last words. As per the famed wisdom of Henri the Pigeon, from An American Tail, Never say Never, whatever you do…

Although my BF is impassioned about studying, the underground academic that he is, I did not think my passions lay there. That is until I took a closer look at at Coursera, which provides 9 FREE college level writing and literature courses. Most even come with a certificate when you finish them.

shhhhh-quiet-everyone-study-wallpaperCoursera is a social entrepreneurship company that partners with the top universities in the world to offer courses online for anyone to take, for free. Through this, they hope to give everyone access to the world-class education that has so far been available only to a select few.

The course which caught my eye is one called Fantasy and Science Fiction: The Human Mind, Our Modern World with Eric Rabkin, provided by the University of Michigan. It started on the 22nd January and is 11 weeks long, but I reckon that I can catch up. I am really quite excited about it. It shouldn’t be surprising, but to me when it comes to studying, it is:  it’s strange that, when it’s something that you’re truly passionate about, it doesn’t seem like work.

I’ll keep  you updated on my progress.

2 responses to “Free Coursera Course: Fantasy and Science Fiction

  1. I love the picture you’ve chosen here 🙂

    • Thanks! You can either see it as reflecting my intellectual capacity, my willingness to learn or simply that a baby dressed up as anything at all will always be highly amusing. 😉

Leave a Reply

