Realism in Writing Goals

Reality Check aheadOK, I have an admission. Although I did enroll in Coursera’s Science Fiction and Fantasy course with the University of Michigan. I’m realising that it’s one commitment too far, there are simply not enough hours in the day for me to do this, my blog, my novel and all the other extra-cirricular activities that I am involved in. It’s one thing too many, lest all the balls that I am juggling come tumbling down.

The reading list is great (and I think it I will follow it), the course materials are great, but enrolling late and trying to launch myself into it was a little optimistic. I think that I will definitely enroll into another course where I have prepared myself  timetable-wise. In fact, Online Games: Literature, New Media, and Narrative, a Coursera course with Vanderbilt University which starts in the summer looks particularly entertaining (one of the classes is held in the LOTR MMORPG), but I digress…

Progress with writing 4&20

As far as crafting long-form fiction goes, I am a slow writer. I spend hours agonising over every word and phrase. Constantly fact-checking and looking for better suited synonyms to make my writing just so. Although I would say that overall my standard of writing is fairly good, there isn’t very much of it and to put it frankly, a snail would easily outpace me.

Blog-assisted inspiration

I’ve been blogging for just under 2 weeks, and I really feel that it is helping me. Helping to give me focus in my writing. I have been in a writing slump for nearly half a year: I set aside my novel 4&20 and my fairy tale fantasy world, and they’ve been gathering dust in a shadowy corner. Although I have not yet added anything to my word count for Four and Twenty Blackbirds, it has been foremost in my thoughts this past fortnight. I have been world building and developing my characters, something that I have not done in an age. I’ve also signed up for a drop-in writing class this Thursday with the very awesome Anne Aylor, which I really think will help get my proverbial ink flowing.

100-Word story: jeffrey archer short story challenge

On other fronts, I have finished my 100-word story for the Jeffrey Archer Short Story Challenge, entitled FreeCycle. I will be going over it with my writing group WLWG on Wednesday, and will post it here after submitting it to the competition.

Happy writing, one and all.

3 responses to “Realism in Writing Goals

  1. Ok, I gotta ask, Is there some trick to getting people to comment? Nothing I do seems to work. I get likes, just no comments. Ironically, I get more likes for my poetry than my writing. lol!

    • To be honest, not sure of any trick to getting comments. I read and comment in other blogs, and sometimes other bloggers come back and comment, but that’s definitely not the whole picture. Where I have longer pieces, I try to split it up with headings or highlight my main points to keep a readers attention… But trying to pinpoint any particular reason would be complete guesswork.

      I like your poetry, so I’m not surprised that it gets liked. :-). Sorry not to have a better answer.

  2. Meh, its all good. I was just wondering if there was some super secret squirrel method that I was missing. Fell free to enjoy the poetry, I try to post them in groups of three. The first batch was old, I had written it months ago, the ones yesterday I wrote the same day.

Leave a Reply

