Lovecraftian Longings

LovecraftShameful to say, I have never read a single work by H.P. Lovecraft – a classic  master of horror rated alongside Edgar Allan Poe.

According to Stephen King: “Now that time has given us some perspective on his work, I think it is beyond doubt that H. P. Lovecraft has yet to be surpassed as the Twentieth Century’s greatest practitioner of the classic horror tale.” It is high praise indeed. I’ve only ever been mildly into the genre of horror, by why is it that I had never come across the actual works of Lovecraft until I stumbled across him in my research.  Shame on me, perchance. I had heard the name ‘Lovecraft’ bandied about, and like many unknown references, it was one I let lie. In my defence, I have never come across his books while browsing the sci-fi/fantasy/horror shelves in bookstores, or in libraries. Perhaps it was my personal oversight or a defiencies in the venues I frequented. Either way, I feel a little cheated.

His influence is wide ranging, for example the Arkham Asylum in Batman is attributed to Lovecraft. His fans include Neil Gaiman, Jorge Luis Borges and Michel Houellebecq. Not to mention, David Bowie, Metallica and Black Sabbath. An impressive fan base to be sure. So I will presently be embarking on my Lovecraftian horror adventure, I hope it will be as fulfilling as when I first stumbled across John Wyndham. The bonus is that all of Lovecraft’s works are out of copyright, so Project Gutenberg, here I come.

10 responses to “Lovecraftian Longings

  1. Actually, I think this collection is a great one for the price. It contains not only stories by Lovecraft, but also stories by other authors inspired by his works.

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007V8RQC4/ref=kinw_myk_ro_title

    • Nice! Along with the free versions, I’ve downloaded this one for a cool 49pence. Thanks for the recommendation.

  2. I’m going to have to check him out. Right up my alley.

  3. Iron Maiden also. I’ve been reading Lovecraft, along with other similar authors since I was little. You should look into the 1982 copy of Weird Tales (I blogged about it here: http://bottledsmoke.wordpress.com/2012/12/21/a-review-of-weird-tales/ ) It has The Case of Charles Dexter Ward in it, which I believe is the only novel length story that Lovecraft ever wrote. I will say that I don’t totally agree with Stephen King on Lovecraft. I’ve read a lot of his work that wasn’t particularly great, and I’ve ready several possibly lesser-known authors, like Ray Bradbury, Theodore Sturgeon and Robert E. Howard, that I actually like much better. But that’s just my opinion. You’d have to read them for yourself. Writers like that are a big part of me and probably one of the reasons I’m slightly weird. 🙂 I hope you enjoy the stories.

    • Thanks Sara! And I really enjoyed the article.

      Stephen King’s praise is a lot to live up to. If he can’t match H.G. Wells or John Wyndham, I will probably be a little disappointed. The good news is that it shouldn’t take too long as they are all short stories. I’ve downloaded some alread, so will be doing some quality reading shortly.

      I know Ray Bradbury, but haven’t come across Sturgeon or Howard before, I’ll need to check them out.

  4. I haven’t read any Lovecraft, either. Perhaps I should.

    • I will let you know how it goes… I think it’s my next book to read. Hmmmmmm… I really need to update my goodreads list.

  5. Neither have I

  6. Pingback: Poseidon’s Children by Michael West: Lovecraftian Lunacy | MikesFilmTalk

Leave a Reply

