Murakami: Writing a Novel Is Like Survival Training

Moshin HamidHaruki Murakami isn’t everyone’s fitness guru, but Moshin Hamid, the author of The Reluctant Fundamentalist and more recently How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia (great title btw) advocates Murakami as the man who inspired him to exercise first, write second.

In an interview with The Paris Review, Murakami said:

“writing a long novel is like survival training. Physical strength is as necessary as artistic sensitivity.”

The Atlantic Article where this was highlighted to me informs that “Murakami… transformed himself from nicotine-stained wastrel to marathoning meganovelist, [and] urges writers to prepare for novels like contestants gearing up for the Hunger Games.” Moshin has said that it was following Murakami’s advocation that gave him the drive and energy to move forward with his writing.

This really struck a cord with me, as I find that exercise really does help my mind to work better, so Mr Murakami really does have a point. I have linked the two activities together, but perhaps I should dualise my exercise and writing routines. This reminds me that I really need to get on the case with exercising my body as well as my mind. I only have two weeks left to train for the Where’s Wally 10km fun run, and I am way behind.

6 responses to “Murakami: Writing a Novel Is Like Survival Training

  1. Good luck! I, too, find that ideas spawn during my exercise. I have not been running like I should be (the zombies may get me)

    • I think that there is always more to be done where exercise is concerned. Although a healthy fear of zombies will never be amiss.

  2. This is why I write short stories and not novels. 🙂

  3. I have some of my best ideas while exercising. Things just seem clearer.

    • It is really amazing that getting clarity on writing can be as simple as taking timeout to exercise. The hard thing is getting moving and getting a good routine going

Leave a Reply

